2016 President’s Holiday Party

In Case You Missed the Holiday Party…

By Posted on December 8, 2016

At the end of each year, members of the architectural community gather together to celebrate at AIA Pittsburgh’s President’s Holiday Party. This year, the party was held at the Alloy 26 designed by Desmone Architects.


Early in the evening some business was announced. Four AIA members were voted on to be part of the AIA Pittsburgh Board of Directors – Eric Booth, AIA; Mike Gwin, AIA; Jeff Murray, FAIA; Dina Snider, AIA- as well as two Associate AIA Board representatives – Ray Bowman, Assoc. AIA; Bea Spolidoro, Assoc. AIA.


The traditional passing of the wig took place, as 2016 president Michael McDonnell, AIA welcomed 2017 president Jeff Murray, FAIA. Next, Ray Bowman, Assoc. AIA was awarded the AIA Pittsburgh President’s Award for his dedication and many contributions to the AIA, who serves as a role model for his colleagues with his thoughtful and collaborative spirit, and creates meaningful mentorship experiences in an effort to promote and support the next generation of architects.

Finally, we congratulated the 19 young professionals who have successfully completed the A.R.E. and AXP hours to become registered architects in 2016. The newly registered architects are: Monica Blasko, AIA; Jesse Catenacci, AIA; Mary Guest, AIA; Jason Hindes, AIA; Jonathan Hoag; Katie LaForest; Brenna Martin-Shaffer; Dario McPhee, AIA;  Adria Moyer; Jessica Ondrusek; Melanie Panutsos, AIA; Michelle Payanzo; Lainey Phillips; Christopher Pless, AIA; Kristin Saunders; Bea Spolidoro, Assoc. AIA; Sam Smelko, AIA; Bryan West-Whittman, AIA; Brandon Zawicki, AIA. Congratulations to everyone and we will see you in the new year!

Photos by Ed Massery.

Comment Policy

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *