2018 Annual Meeting and Holiday Party

New RAs and Updates to the Bylaws

By AIA Pittsburgh Posted on December 6, 2018

At the end of each year, members of the AIA Pittsburgh community gather together to celebrate at the President’s Holiday Party. This year, the party was held at IKM, Incorporated.

The Annual Meeting portion of the evening kicked off with the election of four AIA members to serve on the AIA Pittsburgh Board of Directors – Lisa Carver, AIA, Principal at Perfido Weiskopf Wagstaff + Goettel: NCARB, LEED AP, Leadership Pittsburgh Graduate; Patricia Culley, AIA, Senior Associate at Bohlin Cywinski Jackson:  WELL AP, LEED AP BD+C, member of the PA COTE Committee, John Ryan, AIA, Project Architect at DesignGroup, LEED AP, Leadership Institute graduate.  Brian Gaudio, Assoc. AIA was renewed as Associate AIA Board representative.

Next, the membership voted on the proposed by-law changes. The new Bylaw changes that were unanimously accepted can be viewed by clicking here.

The membership congratulated Rich DeYoung, FAIA, President of WTW Architects, recipient of the AIA PA Medal of Distinction. This is the highest award bestowed by AIA Pennsylvania upon a living AIA Pennsylvania member.

Executive Director Michelle Fanzo celebrated the many achievements of the past year including two grants AIA Pittsburgh received from AIA National, one for $6,000 to support NOMA Pittsburgh/Project Pipeline to provide middle school architectural education, and another for $5,000 to help area decision-makers value the connection between architecture and human health.  Fanzo also highlighted the 3,600 people who voted in the People’s Choice Awards during Design Pittsburgh and the great visibility that Doors Open provided to local architects, with exposure in over 25,000 programs.

Finally, Mike Gwin, AIA welcomed Steve Winikoff, AIA as 2019 AIA Pittsburgh president. Many thanks to Mike for his leadership over the past year.

Steve Winikoff, AIA and Mike Gwin, AIA

Finally, attendees congratulated the 20 young professionals who have successfully completed the A.R.E. and AXP hours to become registered architects in 2018.

Congratulations to everyone and we will see you in the new year!


Comment Policy

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *