Awards Criteria 2018

AIA Pittsburgh invites your participation in our Annual Design Awards Competition. Our mission is to recognize and promote excellence in architecture and design, as created by the members of The American Institute of Architects.

In keeping with that mission, we offer several categories that recognize excellence in different aspects of design.

As in the past, every project submitted will be eligible for exhibition and featured throughout the Design Pittsburgh programming. Don’t miss the Design Pittsburgh Gala and Awards Ceremony held on October 25th! Check out the event schedule and save the dates. During the Design Awards Ceremony we will announce the winners of the Silver Medal, Honor Award(s), & Certificate(s) of Merit.

Who is Eligible?

Members of AIA Pittsburgh, or any member of any AIA chapter across the country who has a project in the 11-county area represented by AIA Pittsburgh can be included in the design competition. All projects must have at least one AIA Pittsburgh architect on the project team. All submissions for the AIA Pittsburgh Design Awards Competition can only be submitted by an AIA Pittsburgh architect.

The Design Awards entries are judged by measuring the architect’s performance against each project’s potential, and not in competition with each other. Thus, projects of ordinary program or modest budget can merit an award based on the architect’s skill in optimizing the design opportunity.

AIA Pittsburgh Design Awards Criteria

All Design Pittsburgh submissions will be collected through

Architecture Award
Design + Innovation Award
Interior Architecture Award
Regional + Urban Design Award
Small Project Award
Excellence in Sustainability + Resiliency Award

About the Design Awards

The Jury may elect to choose one or more projects for each award.
Silver Medal – AIA Pittsburgh’s highest award celebrates an extraordinary work of architecture. The decision to bestow this award rests solely with the jury and is only presented in the Architecture category.
Honor Award – To honor the best of the submitted projects.
Certificate of Merit – To reward a particular design aspect of the submitted projects. A Certificate of Merit may be awarded for Design, Craftsmanship and Architectural Detail, Sustainable Design, Community Impact, or other unique merit identified by the jury or demonstrated in the submission.
Timeless Award – To honor buildings that set a precedent. Conferred on a building that has stood the test of time for more than 25 years and continues to set standards of excellence for its architectural design and significance.
Engineering + Science Award – To recognize the engineering community for their part on the design team. Celebrates innovative uses of building, site, campus, community, and regional engineering that advance the design field; approaches to systems and infrastructure integration; and the use of engineering science to solve complex problems. A separate jury with engineering and science expertise will review this category.
People’s Choice Award – This category reflects the public’s popular vote for a favorite project. Votes will be collected on the AIA Pittsburgh’s online exhibit featuring Design Pittsburgh’s Design Award Submissions.

Important Deadlines

Friday, August 17th, by 5:00 p.m. – Submission Request Forms must be received by AIA Pittsburgh.

Friday, August 24th, by 5:00 p.m. – Your Dropbox folders must contain all required elements for the project submission to be eligible for judging.

Friday, September 21st by 5:00 p.m. – Design Boards must be received by AIA Pittsburgh Office.

Forms for Download

Submission Request Form

Project Information Form